Dry Chutney Powder

IMG_3302Warm blankets , chirping sparrows , tender rays of the rising sun and the beautiful smell of  freshly seasoned Coconut Chutney served with soft Idlis…a typical day in my beautiful childhood….My mother raised two happy children and never got tired of cooking such beautiful meals with such earnest effort. These memories are very close to my heart!  Years later , with a bazillion changes in my life , the only common thing in todays mornings are the Warm blankets. Life today is a constant race against the clock and the Dry Chutney Powder usually comes to my aid when there’s a sandwich with no filling , Idlis/Dosas with no chutney , Salad with no punch , or Rice with no curry ( Simply mix the Dry Chutney with warm Ghee and transcend …Mmmmm )  In my view, the Dry Chutney Powder is absolutely versatile. There are many versions to the Dry Chutney Powder, but an absolute favourite of mine is the Roasted Peanut Chutney Powder.

IMG_3294 Ingredients : 

1) 2 Cups Dry Peanuts
2) 3 to 4 Red Chillies
3) 6 to 7 Garlic Cloves
4)1 Pinch Asafoetida
5) 1 Teaspoon Jaggery Powder (Optional).
6) Salt to taste
7) 1 Sprig of Curry Leaves (Optional)

IMG_3296Method:

Dry roast the Peanuts in a Skillet slowly ensuring that you keep turning them regularly else they tend to get burnt and leave a very bitter taste. Transfer them on to a plate and let it cool. Roast the Red Chillies, Garlic Cloves and the Curry leaves for a few seconds. Once the peanuts, Garlic cloves, Chillies and Curry leaves are cool, transfer them into a Dry Mixer along with Asafoetida, Jaggery and Salt and grind them into a coarse mixture.

Transfer it into an Air tight container. You can store them for up to 3 weeks when they are kept outside in a dry environment. They tend to last longer while refrigerated.

Served best with Warm ghee , Oil , or chilled Yogurt as an accompaniment for Idly / Dosa / Sandwich…but hey , since I’ve used it with Salads , I’m sure I can figure out many other adventures with the simply Chutney Powder.

5 responses to “Dry Chutney Powder

  1. Good one Kumu. If I may add.. white til, when added along with the rest of the ingredients, gives it a very nice flavour 🙂

  2. This looks great! I always get my home-made chutney powder from my mum or grandmother, now I don’t need to wait until they visit! 🙂 I also love putting it in sandwiches!! When you add it to salads do you just mix it in with the dressing?

    • Thank you 🙂 I’m glad you liked it. With Salads I dont mix it with the dressing. I use it with grated Carrots. Just a teaspoon of this powder along with carrots are amazing.

Leave a Reply

